My parents went off on holiday recently to India. My mum spent 2 weeks buying and organising gifts for the whole family. They even had people trying to give them things to take for them. Even I added a little bit, haha. The night before their departure though, mum was adamant on seeing the girls, so I took them to say happy holidays that next morning. 

Mum made parathas for breakfast and gave the girls a gift of money. Something we Indians do for pretty much any reason, haha.

Going to India still seems a big deal to the elder generation. There’s a huge sense of nostalgia and belief that this is a huge and far out journey. I mean the luggage contents was like a house move and we still get phone calls from cheeky relatives requesting expensive gifts like we live in the land of riches and have gold running through our water taps. Not all of them but there are a few that really do think this.

When they questioned the hubby’s where abouts (he was at work) and why he hadn’t come I had to question the big deal and why such an expectation of grand farewells after all other holidays aren’t treated as a big deal. The general response was but we are going to India, so far away! Challo you kids don’t think like us, you don’t feel it. I mean in a sense India is far away buy then at the same time it isn’t really, especially if you have travelled further east like Japan and Australia. 

Personally I love india, I have family there and it’s great fun enjoying the cultural differences. Hubby on the other hand didn’t enjoy the one trip he made there but I’m working on turning him around for another trip with me. For our parents though there is a deeper connection, most likely born and part brought up there and then they immigrated to the ‘west’ and that was in those days a huge journey so going ‘home’ I guess will always be emotional and packed with memories from all those years ago.

Does it really have to be such a star plus/bollywood style departure? Yes! Yes this will continue… atleast thankfully, in my opinion, we’ve deviated from the huge dramatic airport scenes where the whole family would turn up Just to see them off and there would be tears and all sorts going on. 

On our way out though there was still a huge farewell with hugs and kisses to the girls and a wave of emotions from my mum like she was going away for years and years.

We went home though and enjoyed the yummy parathas mum made with chaa ofcourse.

Do you like parathas too? 

2 thoughts on “Indian breakfast and emotional farewells 

  1. Ahhh classic 😂 and nope it always has to be a dramatic farewell – be it India or Tesco lol. You’re married now so I don’t know if this happens to you (probably not) but whenever I go anywhere I get a million and one questions 😂 like I’m heading to the moon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

