The time we lost Minnie 

Minnie is an important part of the family. She goes everywhere with P but there are times when Minnie gets left to one side and forgotten about either through play or distraction. Yesterday P had her one minute, I know she did, I saw the Minnie and the next thing I know she was asking me where’s Minnie. 

So the search began, well actually me instructing P to look began. I sent her back upstairs to go find her, I figured she would remember where she left her and be back down in no time, but she got to the top of the stairs and said mummy I can’t find Minnie. Oh man I thought and guided her to look in all the rooms to which she did by pointing to each door and saying not in bathroom, not in mummy room, not in other mummy rooms and not in my room. So I came to the bottom of the stairs as she continued to explain she looked everywhere and didnt know where she has gone. I explained and got her to go in each room, she followed but literally ran in to the room and ran back out and told me she’s not there mummy I looked everywhere, Mummy I looked everywhere. This continued for about 3 rounds whilst E desperately tried to get the stair gate open and get up the stairs but then I felt stressed, annoyed and baffled all at the same time and decided to go have a look myself.

P joined me in the hunt while E screamed her disapproval of being left downstairs at the gate. No reason having them both raiding upstairs when this is only gunna take a few seconds…but where was Minnie. I looked in every room and every cupboard, under the beds and even the bathroom toilet  (you just never know with toddlers). Minnie was truly missing, I couldn’t find her. 

I turned to prabjot, I investigated and prompted but it was all futile, this is a toddler if she says I don’t know mummy she really doesn’t know. Ha. 

The Where’s Minnie mummy cry went on for an hour by which time I was really annoyed and fed up with missing Minnie. Go on judge me, it’s annoying! I told her she needs to be more responsible and then remembered shes 3yrs old, haha. So we went for another search by which time I felt like crying myself. Where the hell is Minnie, come back Minnie. I can’t do this anymore, I’m loosing my mind. I need a cup of tea, Hot! Hot cup of tea. Oh my God, why had this happened to us, life is just not the same with out you Minnie, come back. Mummy where my Minnie gone. Mummy, Mummy, Mummy.  

Oh I don’t fuckin’ know!! Oops. 

And then P laughs. Apparently me losing it is funny..? 

Nope couldn’t find Minnie though and realised it just had to be done, so I turned to P and gave her the bad news I’m sorry we can’t find Minnie, we did everything we could. I’m really sorry, you’ll have to go nursery with out her. 

Woaaaahhhhhh I want Minnie.

I know I know. Distraction techniques began and we got to nursery and I left pretty quickly before she could ask for Minnie again and quietly warned the carers, haha.

As the girls were at nursery I did another search for my own sanity and really couldn’t find her, have I lost my mummy finding skills? Am I loosing the plot? Or have I gone man-blind  (the can’t see it even if it’s infront of them kind of thing. Yeah I like making words up, but it’s so so true. Hehe). I didn’t know but abandoned the search for the rest of the day, like I stopped caring, I really did. It’s just a stuffed toy I thought, P is not here and I’m hungry so food is more important, right? 

That evening, everyone had forgotten about Minnie but during bedtime routine as I was tending to E, Mummy I found minnie, yay look. I found Minnie and there she was in the cupboard right before our eyes.

Didn’t we look into that cupboard like a million times? Yes, I looked in the f**king cupboard, and it wasnt there. Wtf, It was NOT there.

2 thoughts on “The time we lost Minnie 

Leave a Reply

