Last week I became a Mombie

I was looking forward to some time to myself with both girls at nursery, I had so much planned and organised. I thought it was all going to plan with shopping, birthday organising and some me time with a bit of working out at the gym but then… the girls came home with temperatures on the Friday just before the weekend!

DaddySingh brought them in, E soundly sleeping in her car seat and P all cranky and crying, one look at her and I knew it. Tired eyes, red swollen cheeks, hot and in ‘thug’ mode. Yup Threenagers are good at this.

That evening was then filled with many tantrums, dinner refusals, throwing things and crying, crying and lots of crying plus the completely chaotic bed time.

I have to admit the silence after they finally got to sleep was golden, I quickly, well more like a tiptoe jogingly leaped into the kitchen and put the kettle on but the oh joy was short lived as E kept waking up with difficulty breathing and soring temperatures. On top of that she insisted breastfeeding through the night.

That was difficult as we were weaning out and reached 1 breastfeed at night and then suddenly she was feeding constantly, yeah serious boob confusion.

The following morning was so difficult as P and E both needed tlc, medicine and lots of attention.

I was up most of the nights feeding and caring for E and most of the breastfeeds were in a strange sleep state and before I knew it it was time to be up and have breakfast.

E could do nothing but cry because she is so little and doesn’t talk yet and P was acting out and refusing nap time, eventually a took her up whilst she tried to back flip out of my arms and grab everything on the way. She was then completely sound asleep within 10 minutes, kids!

This continued for the whole week and both of them missed out on nursery but that allowed them, yes THEM to fully recover, I on the other hand have no idea how I’m still functioning. On the nights I spent walking E around in her pram to try and settle her to sleep and knew she would only last a short time I decided to catch up on Game of Thrones and dive in to my chocolate…thank goodness for Game of Thrones! Cue, huge teethy grin.

P recovered faster but did decide to step up her threenager -isms this week too and it was anything and anywhere. At home, supermarkets, on the road, you name it.

At the supermarket, it was all going so well and I was packing whilst P was happily engaging with the cashier and helping out in her own way, we were almost done but then suddenly P breaks in to tears and the whole supermarket seemed to go quiet (you know what I mean, like everyone’s trying to get on with their business but actually listening and pretending not to look your way)

What’s wrong P?

No!

Whilst letting out a loud cry.

So now cashier is trying to get her attention too and a few passers-by whilst she tries to wipes her face which now is all wet from the tears.

What happened P, can you tell mummy with your words?

Waaaaaaaa!

As we try and say good bye,

I wanna get down! Down! Wanna get down!

Now!!!

and we head to the car park leaving a silent supermarket behind us…

These toddlers’ are unpredictable so Beware seriously BEWARE but all that is minor because this has a huge impact on mums too and extremely challenging and testing on inner calm, so a mum with no sleep or rest with toddler and baby is a zombie mummy or Mombie you just don’t wanna mess with.

Leave a Reply

